normanstrike

152. Tuesday March 5th, 1985.

In Uncategorized on February 19, 2010 at 3:41 pm

This morning I applauded as the lads marched proudly back behind the Lodge banner, heads held high. They were followed in by the scabs in their mobile rat cage and I had a final noisy shout as they sped in.

  I went into the pit to the changing rooms and collected my few belongings from my locker. I felt both elated and depressed. Elated because I know I will never have to go down the pit again, and depressed because we have lost and I won’t be around to rebuild the union around the young militant lads who have come to the fore during the strike.

  In Northumberland the men of Bates Colliery were refused entry to the pit because they were late! That’s just twisting the knife. Kent have refused to go back in protest against the betrayal of the sacked men. Good for them! It’s what we all should’ve done!

  1. Hi Norm
    long time no see. Hope you’re ok.
    Toby.

    • Toby, bloody hell, I’ve tried putting your name into Facebook and got nowhere, I’ve googled you and got nowhere so I am SO pleased to hear from you on here. Please just email me on normanstrike@hotmail.com so we can catch up on 25 odd years.
      Norman

  2. Reblogged this on Derby People's Assembly.

Leave a Reply

