normanstrike

15. Thursday March 29th, 1984.

In Uncategorized on March 29, 2009 at 10:51 am

We did a picket at Grimethorpe this morning before heading home but last night’s events had us all feeling a bit downhearted.

On the way back up the M1 we passed a long convoy of lorries heading into the Ferrybridge power station which brought home the full enormity of the task facing us if we are to win this strike. One thing that is certain is that the only way we are going to get the scabs in Notts to join the strike is mass picketing, and by mass I mean thousands because that’s the only way we can beat the police. Those scabs are helping Thatcher to smash the NUM, and if that is allowed to happen it will be a total betrayal of everything our forefathers fought for and the union movement itself will be under threat. Why can’t people see that?

Back at Westoe we cleaned out the van before returning it to Newcastle. The GMBW were NOT pleased to hear that their van will be impounded if its seen in Notts and this may cause us problems if we want to use it again.

Back at the pit the Chairman and Secretary showed their appreciation of our initiative by completely ignoring us, totally disinterested in hearing about the situation in Notts. This sums up their attitude and if we are forced to rely on them then the strike will be lost!

Finally¬† back home I had a bath and then made dinner for Kath and the girls in an attempt to soften her up because I had left for Notts without seeing her, just a quick phonecall that gave her no chance to object. She has forgiven me but I’ve had to promise her to slow down a bit and take the weekend off so we can spend some time together. Anyway, I feel knackered and could do with a break myself.

  1. I’m really enjoying reading this blog. When I was a young auto worker from Detroit, I went down to Kentucky to picket in the famous Harlan County miner’s strike of 1974. Many years later I ended up a bus driver in San Francisco where I walked the Greyhound picket line daily for four years from 1990 until it was over in 1994. I’ve been a trade unionist for more than 35 years. I’m getting near the end of my working life but I’m just as strong in my support for labor as when I was 17. Thanks so much for your service in the miner’s strike and thanks for posting your story.

    • Thanks Jon.I Thought a year was a long time but 4 years!! I really admire you and thanks for your committment and dedication.

  2. The Greyhound strike was a disaster from the first day. I only picketed on my breaks from my current job. Still, some of us were committed enough to see it through to the end.

  3. Excellent diary – I was there myself for much of it! This isn’t exhaustive but you might like to have a look:

    http://www.reportdigital.co.uk/public/slideshows/minersstrike.asp

  4. My dad stayed out for the whole strike- hard going in Nottinghamshire; it caused huge divisions in my family as most of my uncles continued to work. The strike had a major impact on my view on life and the respect that I have for my dad makes me want to weep. It was good to read your account- the strike was a lonely business for my family.x

Leave a Reply

